Review on slug & lettuce spinningfield 

 

So if you follow me on Instagram you will know that I attended a new menu launch and a cocktail masterclass at Slug & Lettuce Spinningfield! If you don’t follow me on Instagram the link should be at the bottom of this page.

My week has been super hectic so I’m so excited that I finally get to tell you all about the event!

My day didn’t exactly go as I had planned. First off I got completely lost. Which happens just about every. Single. Time. I go to the city. I set off quiet early to beat traffic, it was possibly the best decision of the day to have done this. I got so lost and nearly turned back to go home because I just had no clue where I was going and my sat nav wasn’t much help either.

Once I finally arrived I was created by two lovely ladies. I was the first to arrive and they were so welcoming. I felt at ease straight away, which is what I was nervous about as I was coming to an event where I knew no one. But all of the staff immediately made me feel comfortable – being offered a class of prosecco the moment I got in may have helped too. If I had to rate the staff out of 5, I would definitely rate them 5/5. As I have mentioned in my previous posts I honestly believe that the staff of a restaurant are a reflection of the restaurant itself so it was a really important part of the night that the staff were giving out a positive vibe.

Before last week I had never been to the slug and lettuce – even though there is quite a few within the Manchester area. The atmosphere was very laid back and relaxed. I was here for a cocktail masterclass but I also think it would be suitable if you just wanted to go for a lunch and some drinks with your parents, maybe for a meeting etc. they also have an outdoor seating area which would be perfect on a summer’s day.
So the cocktail masterclass lasted about 45 to 55 minutes and was led by a staff member called Ruth. Who was lovely! She taught us how to make two cocktails. A mojito and a cosmo. I’d never made a cocktail before this as I’m not a major drinker but it was so much fun and I would definitely do another masterclass in the future. After the masterclass finished one of the managers directed us to another seating area with better lighten as we were all complaining about how the beautiful pink sign behind us was ruining our selfie time!

I knew that it was the launch of their new menu and I expected some samples of course but the slug & lettuce Spinningfield were more than generous when it came to their menu launch. I did a post not too long ago about finding somewhere that does macaroons. Well I found it. I’m also vegetarian and slightly lean towards being vegan at times so I also was not expecting a wide selection for vegetarians. I was so impressed with all of the veggie and vegan options available here! Honestly I’ve been day dreaming about their jalapeño poppers…

I also wanted to talk about the location – I’m not a native of Manchester and I had to ask directions on two occasions to get from Manchester Piccadilly bus station to the arndale. Which is a two minute walk may I add. I found it really hard to find but that may have to do with the fact I have no idea how to use sat navs. The slug & Lettuce is also situated by a beautiful picturesque canal. Pictures to follow! For those of you who drive there is also an indoor car park right across from the entrance to the bar and another one about 5 minutes’ drive away.

So I don’t want to make this review too long but to conclude with I just want to say that this post was in no way sponsored by the slug and lettuce spinningfields but is my own personal opinion on the restaurant and bar! I enjoyed my time here and loved meeting all of the other bloggers who were so welcoming! I would definitely this place if your in Manchester and want to go somewhere that isn’t directly in the city centre so it’s not overbearing and loud etc. but somewhere with picturesque views and an amazing menu.

I really hope you all enjoyed my post and I’d love to hear some recommendations for bars/restaurants in the Manchester area.

Lots of love x

Leave a Reply

