My journey to becoming a vegetarian

When you hear someone is a vegetarian you automatically think; animal lover, But it’s not always the case especially with me. Although one of the reasons as to why I am a vegetarian is because I don’t understand the point in killing animals for food, when being a vegetarian is so much easier and healthier and no one dies in the process. But my main reason for being a vegetarian is simply because I don’t like meat ,  I don’t like the smell of it ,  I don’t like the taste of it, it just isn’t my cup of tea.

I remember when I first started to realise I was vegetarian I was still in primary school and I remember only eating around the meat in the sandwiches my mum would make me and only eating the crackers and cheese in those little lunch sets. I was only about 11 so I had no idea what a vegetarian was and what the difference was. I just knew I wasn’t a fan of meat.

When I told my parents that I wanted to be a vegetarian they were having none of it. they thought I was going to end up super unhealthy and just starve to death. So they said no. so I became a secret vegetarian but they soon caught on to this and started making me eat meat in my dinners because they thought they were doing the right thing. Finally my aunt convinced them it was just a phase and they let me be. Clearly wasn’t a phase because here I am 8 years later.

Even after this I didn’t automatically become a perfect vegetarian it took me a while before I realised that all companies have to list whether or not there foods are vegetarian, I had no idea that meat was put into sweets, some types of ice creams and biscuits etc. I just thought if it didn’t have meat bits then it was of course vegetarian. I also thought it was okay to have my food cooked with other meat products as long as when it was cooked I removed the chicken or bacon or whatever it was. I was 12 and with no one in my family a vegetarian I had no idea about the first thing about being a vegetarian.

After I realised that all products either say they are suitable for vegetarians or have a vegetarian symbol on them, I wouldn’t eat anything unless it was 100 percent vegetarian which was hard for my mum who was used to cooking for all meat eaters and we do have a big family. I also then started to make sure that all of my food was not only cooked separate to everyone else’s meaty foods but that there was no way even the smell of meat would land in my food. I was slightly anaemic at one point but this was before I started to research about being a vegetarian and foods that were high in iron etc.

People become vegetarian for so many different reasons. some for the animals and some for their own health. Substituting vegetarian options and incorporating more veg into your diet is so much better than eating a cheese burger. I thought I would just share with everyone why I am a vegetarian because I’m pretty sure I haven’t seen any other posts where someone became a vegetarian not purely because they love animals.

I do try and keep my posts short! I hope you all enjoyed reading this and please follow me and like this post if you enjoyed it! If you would like to hear more about my vegetarian lifestyle and some recipes that I use that are super quick and simple let me know. Thank you for reading!
Lots of love x

Leave a Reply

